Local Government Spatial Reference Group


“Appropriate and effective spatial capability is established across all Local Councils and is recognised as fundamental to council efficiency and service delivery”

About Us

The Local Government Spatial Reference Group (LGSRG) was formed in 2003 to address the need for a sector wide group representing the strategic interests of the Victorian Local Government sector with respect to spatial information.


The main objectives of the LGSRG include:

  • Developing sector-wide positions on key issues relating to Local Government;

  • Taking advantage of opportunities for Local and State Government collaboration on spatial information initiatives;

  • Generating increased awareness of spatial management issues across the sector;

  • Seeking the necessary resources to progress priority projects on a sector-wide basis;

  • Promoting spatial capabilities, on behalf of local government, to other key stakeholders.


In the years since the LGSRG’s formation, there continues to be significant advances in spatial technologies, data capture, maintenance and storage. While there are many examples of effective use of spatial technology and information within individual Councils, this has not been uniform across Local Governments. There are many challenges that remain unresolved and there is a broadly held perception within the LGSRG that spatial capabilities are undervalued.

What do we do?

Who we are


 Contact Us

For any enquiries, please contact us:

Anne Qiu

City of Monash


Bruce Eaton

Mildura Rural City Council


Cheryl Morahan

Latrobe City Council


Diane Daniell

Central Goldfields Shire


Greg Dunmill

Moreland City Council


Luke Basset

Casey City Council


Mike Johnson

City of Melton


Nicholas Hendriks

Southern Grampians Shire Council


Nigel Wells

City of Port Phillip


Peta Moores

City of Greater Geelong


Stuart McDougall

Gannawarra Shire


Tim Warfe

Moorabool Shire Council


Will McIntosh

Melbourne City Council


Zoran Kosanovic

City of Boroondara


Barrett Higman

Alpine Shire Council

Former Representative

Maliza Kruh

Nillumbik Shire Council

Former Representative

Jane Kaye

Rural City of Wangaratta

Former Representative

Juan Pufleau

Frankston City Council

Former Representative

Please reload